skip navigation

Lakeville Produces 4 Picks in 2017 NHL Draft

By Marcus Anderson, 06/24/17, 1:30PM CDT


From Round 1 through Round 7, the talent from Hasse & Ames is found

There shouldn't be any more question about the quality of talent produced by Lakeville Hockey Association after our hockey development and varsity program's historic 2017 NHL draft.

Conducted in Chicago, IL on June 23-24, 2017, two Panthers and  two Cougars were selected by 4 NHL teams during the event.  

On Friday, Lakeville made history when North alums Ryan Poehling and Jake Oettinger were selected back-to-back in the first round.

Poehling, a St. Cloud State Husky,  was chosen by the Montreal Canadiens with pick #25.  Oettinger, a Boston University Terrier, was chosen by the Dallas Stars who traded up 3 spots to land the only goalie selected in the first round.

History was made again the 7th round when Lakeville South's Nick Swaney became the first Cougar player to be chosen in the NHL draft.  A University of Minnesota Duluth Bulldog recruit, Swaney was selected by the Minnesota Wild with the 209th pick overall.  

Just 6 picks later, Joshua Ess, a South alum and Wisconsin Badger recruit was selected by the Chicago Blackhawks.

(Note: The Wild picked North's Jack Sadek in the 7th round of the 2015 draft, and recently signed South alum Justin Kloos to an NHL deal, creating a possible future with three LHA players on the same roster.)

At the current time there are 11 players from Lakeville who are affiliated with the NHL or NWHL (National Women's Hockey League). View the complete lists of all our awesome alums both active and legacy and let us know if we are missing anybody.

Ryan Poehling, St. Cloud State, Montreal Canadiens First Round Pick (#25 overall in 2017).

Nick Swaney, University of Minnesota Duluth, Minnesota Wild Seventh Round Pick (#209 overall in 2017).

Jake Oettinger, Boston University, Dallas Stars First Round Pick (#26 overall in 2017).

Joshua Ess, University of Wisconsin, Chicago Blackhawks Seventh Round Pick (#215 overall in 2017).